Tuesday, August 15, 2006

Everything Is Alright

Moby is set to release a new greatest hits album with a new song "New York, New York" that was "written and recorded over the summer in Manhattan" and has Deborah Harry on vocals. He has been haunted by crap collections of his previous work, but this looks like the most consistent collection of Moby's previously released material since "Early Underground" rounded up all his initial 12" rave singles. Here's the tracklisting:

1. Go
2. Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad?
3. In This World
4. Porcelain
5. In My Heart
6. New York, New York (featuring Debbie Harry on vocals)
7. Natural Blues
8. Lift Me Up
9. Bodyrock
10. We Are All Made Of Stars
11. Slipping Away
12. Honey
13. Move
14. James Bond Theme
15. Feeling So Real

: It's rather cheeky move to not include his biggest hit, "South Side", but it's a really solid disc. The only track I would drop is "In My Heart", one of the tracks Moby premiered at the SLC Olympics, which just isn't nearly as good as Moby thinks and I would love to have seen another pre-"EIW" rave track like "Next Is The E" or "Ah Ah" included. It's a good thing that the comp sticks to his strengths by including nothing from "Animal Rights" or the punk rock tracks that Moby recorded last year. No word on a US release but if it does come out here expect "South Side" to be on it.

On a related note I just heard Johnny Cash's version of "God's Gonna Cut You Down" which appears on his posthumous "American V: A Hundred Highways" that was released last month. Moby sampled that song to create "Run On" and given the timing and Rick Rubin's involvement in the American Recordings sessions it's likely that Cash never would have covered the song if it wasn't for Moby. It certainly brings more credibility to "Play"'s inclusion on Nation Public Radio's list of the "300 most important American musical works of the 20th century" from a few years ago.


J'ason D'luv said...

What!?!?!?!?!? No "Everytime You Touch Me"? Blasphemy....

Daft Monk said...

It's missing some great tunes for sure and I would have liked to see "Everytime You Touch Me" on it.
Since I posted the US tracklisting has been revealed and it has "South Side" on it as well as "God Moving Over The Face Of The Waters" which has been on both of Moby's two previous major label collections.